1 Social Networks

Tuesday, 14 April 2015 00:00

Awards & Presenters Announced!

There are awards aplenty at Railway's annual ball, which takes place in this Saturday in the Ballsbridge Hotel.

The annual ball has been the highlight of the Railway social calendar for a number of years and Ball supremo Ed Morane said he expected this year to be no different.

"The biggest event of Railway's year is always the Annual Ball'" said Morane.  "The club has had a successful season with the M1s, W1s, W2s and GU18s all claiming trophies, whilst the M2s, M3s and M4s are in semi-finals or finals of various cup competitions."

All winning teams will be there to be presented with their silverware at the Ball.

"It is fitting that each team and player will be presented with their trophies on the night, so that their achievements can be acknowledged in front of the entire club," said Morane, who also said the official team photos will be taken on the night.

Morane, not content with organizing the event, has installed himself as compere as well, in a vain attempt to follow in the footsteps of the uber-refined Eoin Tippins and always elegant Jack Hanratty.

In addition to the team presentations, a number of keenly-contested individual player awards are also to be made.

"The final votes were received this week and the winners have been decided," said Morane.  "I know the judges in each category had extremely difficult choices to make, as many individuals had outstanding seasons."

"The awards are very much player-led and, fitting with our 'one-club' ethos, each award will be presented to the winner by a senior player from their opposite team," confirmed Hourigan.

limited number of tickets are still available, priced at €60 (with €45 for students) and includes the four-course meal, wine, late bar, band and DJ.  

To book your tickets, please email Ed Morane.


Awards Running Order and Presenters


Order When Trophy Presented By
Presentation 1 After Starter Girls U18 Player of The Year Tom Newman
    Men's 3s Player of the Year Dephyne Muzaya
    Men's 2s Player of the Year Niamh Byrne
    Women's 2s Player of the Year Max Lacken
Presentation 2 After Main  100 Caps Club Inductees Ciaran O'Brien
    Men's 1s Player of the Year Lucy O'Sullivan
    Women's 1s Player of the Year Darragh Killeen
Presentation 3 After Dessert Club Most Improved Player John Ryan
    Damian Reade Young Potential Award Fred Barber
    Club Person of the Year John Cronin